Cracking Windows 8


Well, not exactly…

you see, I had a problem…

Ok already, yes it was a self created problem.

not really something I could do anything about.  Here is the problem scenario.

You have a windows 8 computer

No password, no password recovery disk

You are hosed…or rather I was.  The computer?  Brand new hi-power dell running windows 8.  Ok, I did all the old school tricks to try to get to the command prompt.  I wanted to run:

image

But every time I tried to get past the logon screen, I was stymied.  Finally I booted into the bios.  Why?  Because it was set to boot from the Hard Drive first.  Why was this important?  Because I had a brand new Windows 8 install disk that would allow me to get to the command window without the challenge.  Being in install mode and all.

So after going into the bios and moving ol’ dvd rom to the top, I was able to boot off the install dvd.

Got to the “install windows” screen.  In the lower left corner in really small writing is a repair windows link.  Click on it and a few new options show up.  You can “Refresh” among other things.  But I went to Advanced.  Clicked on the Command Prompt option.  Once there it was a pretty simple couple of steps to :

a) re-enable the local admin account

b) reset the local admin password

Log back in as admin and finish fixing the system.

Seems like it would have been easy from the beginning.  To bad I fussed around with old school options before I figured this one out.

 

Hope this saved you some time…

Published by

Andre

Originally, this was a pretty darn boring post. Kinda like... Well I won't go there. Perhaps its still on the robotic side but... I could say I like music. Safe, generic and non-comittal. Or, I could say that I've been having a blast tuning up my old guitars, getting blisters on my fingers and turning the amp up past 2. Amazaing what a little overdrive and a half pressed wahwah pedal can do for a sound. Get that cool "Money for Nothin" vibe happening. I get a real kick out of reading old Sci Fi. Reading Asimov's vision about the future is really entertaining now. When he wrote much of the material, the items that were futuristic were day to day tools I used in the early part of my career. Microfiche and the like. I also remember that upstart Microsoft and MS DOS...and can you say Lotus 123? So maybe this is a little better than "I like to read and play music". My career is focused on Team Leadership and Technology. Both share the attributes of continual growth and education. Currently, I manage a team of 4 programmers as direct reports. I've been in this role since 08/2007. Prior to that, I was the team lead (on site) for integration with the customer. Customers ranged from local government to manufacturing and medical. Teams ranged in size from one to six additional team members. On the other side is technology. I've been keeping current with .net technologies focusing on C# and Sharepoint (2007/2010). Specialties Team Building and Management Technical Staff Recruiting Microsoft Visual Studio 7 through 2010 (VB.NET and C#.NET) Microsoft SQL Server 6.5-2008R2 (DTS, TSQL, SSIS, SSAS, and SSRS ) SharePoint 2010 (Office Integration, InfoPath, Site Management and planning) Windows Server 2008 R2 AD DS PowerShell Techology analysis Puchasng and working with vendors Microsoft licensing management and compliance Business Systems Analysis Traning plans Mentoring Training coordination.

Leave a comment