Home > Food for thought - opinion > Heh, the true life of a programmer…

Heh, the true life of a programmer…

September 23, 2015 Leave a comment Go to comments

True life?  Can there be such a thing.. come on now, we’re

 

talking about stuff here… ok, new font…

 

There are so many fun fonts but I digress…

WOW, creating a video takes some serious processor…

Again, I digress…

<queue the “Final Countdown”/>

Where was I…

The dreaded Estimate…

This is one area where this is no right answer.  As professionals, we know that at the beginning of the project, there is no way in hell an accurate estimate is possible. 

Unknowns… at this point, the unknowns you don’t know about are going to come out and get you quick…

Just saying, you’re working on a masterpiece for a sector that has a lot of the Man involved.  I mean, Government would have worked but really, each entity is a force unto itself… “The Man” and I liked it better.

It really should be “The Entity described as the Entity”.

Ah, object oriented programming, I capiche!  Totally used wrong I know.  In fact, I think I’ll retract that.

 

Word just doesn’t hang with Italian slang… what gives… gimme back my font!

 

Ok, back to the font of choice…you know, I remember a time when you could simply change the body font of the document and be done.  Now, it’s hidden back stage in document properties.  Say that ten times fast… come on, you know, you wanna…

DIGRESSION CHECKER!!!!

Wow, did I ever jump right off that estimate question.  Hey, it’s a really tough question.  I mean, there is always the FANTASY that everything will just fall into place. 

No equipment delays

Top notch programmers

Happy customers

A solid and reliable version 1 that upgrading will be a piece of cake…

<queue the Eagles, “The Long Run”>

ugh…

Switched to the Judas Priest station…

Needed high energy…

Back to the life of a prog…

Or this is my take…

Look, when I get into the code… it’s all there is.  The problem…the solution…

It’s the solution that gives me the juice. 

(boring Verdana… but consistent…once upon a time, I went to a career … hmmm consult? anyway, they had some good advice…juice…what drives you to show up, succeed?)

<Queue Ozzy>

I do wish my video processor would finish.  It’s playing heck with my blue tooth speaker…but wait, there’s a recall…buy something trendy, it’s what you get.  It’s not made anywhere but shipped in pieces to the final assembly <The Final Countdown>sorry but that is another story.

All right, I give up… better get back to the topic.  You see, that’s where this has been.  It may seem scattered but when you focus solely on an object to the exclusion of all else, the else gets…dingy.

Yes, a small boat used to do tasks….for the BIG boat.  Unless, you’re the Tom Sawyer type and do your own thing.

Font dizzy yet?  Well, I’m not sure about the Judas Priest station… hmmmm.  KONGOS?

Ah, much better….

 

So finally, where does this all end up in the world of estimates.  That’s right, haven’t really told you a thing.  We know that for a project to have life, it must have a release point.  This is not a completion point.  Let me stress that.  As programmers, we know a lot of different ways to accomplish things.  Even more when it comes to appearance and form factor.  What we don’t know, unless some whiz kid has come up with a customer requirements mind reader with a future mod to adjust for customer feature drift.  Customers want to change things.  We, love to change things.  But next, in a funny thing happened on the way to the database…

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

